Maps of deprivation for Yorkshire and Humber districts

YHPHO has become part of Public Health England, joining its Knowledge and Intelligence Team (Northern and Yorkshire).

For access to over 100 data and analytical tools from across Public Health England, please visit the PHE Data and knowledge gateway

Commissioners, local officers, public health and health providers will find the following maps of use when attempting to understand and tackle health inequalities, as they provide a relatively clear local picture of inequalities. They will be useful for including in JSNA, needs assessments, induction packs or local presentations.

Access the maps

The following links provide access to maps of the Index of Multiple Deprivation 2010 for each district within the region. For each district, there are two maps: firstly a map which shows just the district on its own, and secondly a map that shows the district and the surrounding region. There are also maps for the region as a whole.

  District alone  District and surroundings
Barnsley   Barnsley  
Bassetlaw   Bassetlaw  
Bradford & Airedale   Bradford & Airedale    
Calderdale   Calderdale  
Doncaster   Doncaster  
East Riding   East Riding  
Hull   Hull  
Kirklees   Kirklees  
Leeds   Leeds  
North Lincolnshire   North Lincolnshire  
North East Lincolnshire   North East Lincolnshire  
North Yorkshire   North Yorkshire  
  Harrogate & York  
  Scarborough & Whitby  
North Yorkshire and Humberside    
Rotherham   Rotherham  
Sheffield   Sheffield  
South Yorkshire and Bassetlaw    
Wakefield   Wakefield  
West Yorkshire    
Yorkshire & Humberside (PCTs)   Yorkshire & Humberside (PCTs)  
Yorkshire & Humberside (clusters)   Yorkshire & Humberside (clusters)  

Further information

The maps include a background map for orientation, and an overlay showing index of multiple deprivation at a lower level super output area, but presented at a postcode level, with each postcode within the same LLSOA coloured the same colour. This presentation emphasizes where people live rather than open countryside. At the regional level, LLSOA rather than postcodes are used. The IMD scale is graded into ten deciles relative to the whole of England, from green for the least deprived through yellow to red as the most deprived.

Last Updated: Monday, 8th December 2014

Validates against XHTML 1.0  Cascading Style Sheet compliance  Single A Accessibility compliance